Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands

Family home in the heart of Holland

House 4 3 2
About Our Home
The town we live in, Alphen aan den Rijn, is located in what is called the 'green heart' of Holland. The big cities are surrounding us in the shape of a horse-shoe. So, we are exactly in the middle of all of the larger Dutch cities; Amsterdam, Rotterdam, The Hague, Utrecht, etc. You can reach any of these within 45 - 50 minutes, either by car or by train. The house is a traditional Dutch family home. It is comformtable and has 3 bedrooms. We will consider an automobile exchange with Marijke's car.
Special Considerations
We will take our own family car with us. Marijke's car would be available if you like, although in many cases you're better off taking public transportation which is excellent and efficient (50 minutes and you're in central Amsterdam).
Large variety of world-famous museums in surrounding cities
Avifauna bird park, Archeon - a historic Dutch theme park
Special Events
Vakantiespel -- in August. A huge annual event for children 6-12.
Anything in the the 'Randstad' (roughly Western Netherlands) is readily accessible.

Send a Message

Member since: Oct 2011
Availability:   Within the next 6 months
Prior exchanges: 0

  Our Dream Trip

destinations Anywhere,  France,  Belgium,  Spain
Any country south of the Netherlands
destinations Anytime

  About Us

  1. Hendrick and Marijke. Married for 10 years. Two young children (girls) will travel with us.
  2. Hendrick works in advertising. Marijke is trade specialist with the Netherlands Ministry of Economic Affairs (Commerce).
  3. We enjoy quiet, relaxing vacations with lot's of reading, playing games, etc. We usually avoid crazy, hectic cities.

  Personal Message

We prefer to avoid costly stays in hotels which is why we are looking into vacation home rental or, even better, home exchange! Since this is going to be our first home-exchange we like to do it not too far away from our place -- possibly up to 1 full day's drive from our own place. So, the furthest we will consider is southern France or possibly northern Spain. We look forward to your offers!