Wynnum, Australia

Classic wooden workers cottage

House 4 2 1
optional rent
$400 / week
About Our Home
Our home is a cottage which has been updated and added too. It has a retro style to it. It has a large deck out the back, which is great for BBQ's. It has a smaller from deck out front for catching the sun in the morning. The garden is lush and tropical. It is very private because of the trees and in a very quiet street. Wynnum is a bayside suburb of Brisbane. It is 20 mins drive from the airport and has direct access to the motorway going north to the Sunshine Coast and south to the Gold Coast. The train station is 100m at the end of the street. The journey to the city takes 40mins. It is a 10 minute walk to the bay with a beautiful esplanade and views of the islands. Wynnum town itself is a daggy little place but has everything you need. Plenty of other suburbs with great coffee shops, shopping and entertainment just a few stations away. Child friendly house with an adventure playground as a garden. Good place for cycling, walking, water sports and camping on local islands.
Many local seafood restaurants because we are near the bay
Local roaster Dremanti is excellent, local craft beer and wine bar
Farmers markets down on the water, numerous eclectic markets around Brisbane
We have an amazing Museum of Modern Art in our Southbank Cultural Centre in the City
Canoeing, biking, walking, boating
An hours drive away in all directions are beautiful beaches or rainforests
Special Events
Lots of spring festival activities, outdoor cinema
Stradbroke Island is a short drive then a ferry trip away. Dolpins, turtles, whales, beautiful beaches, magnificent views. Well kept secret.

Send a Message

Member since: Mar 2015
Availability:   Within the next 12 months
Prior exchanges: 0

  Our Dream Trip

destinations Anywhere,  United Kingdom,  France,  Spain
we are travelling to Europe in September/October
destinations Anytime,   Sep 6, 2015 - Oct 30, 2015
we need somewhere to stay in London 6th September til the 11th September. After a trip to Ireland staying with relatives, we are open to stay in Spain, Portugal and France for a week each any time in October

  About Us

  1. We are a couple in our 40's with our 8 year old daughter Olive
  2. Patrick is an Art Teacher working as a cook, Kathy is a Horticulture Teacher dreaming of fulltime permaculture farming.
  3. This is our big adventure to visit Europe and family in Ireland. Kathy is attending a permaculture Conference in London. Patrick wants to look at all the art museums and Olive just wants to have fun and eat croissants.

  Personal Message

We are new to this but usually we travel with AirBnB so we are used to being guests in other people's house's. We do not smoke and are not big drinkers. We enjoy healthy food and dagging around in coffee shops and museums.