Lyon, France

Nice artsy appartment historic Lyon

Apartment 2 1 1
About Our Home
My flat is located in the heart of Croix Rousse (historic neighborood of Lyon ), in a beautiful hundred year old house. The style is the one of a charming old french and lyonnese apartment in the Canuts bourgeois style like you’ll see in the photos (if you only feel comfortable with brand new installations this is not suited for you!) , with high ceilings, big windows, wooden floors and romantic marble chimneys in the bedroom and living-room (only for decoration nowadays). I'm an artist with a big interest for decoration and art so it is nicely decorated with lots of art, sculptures and paintings. People tend to feel really good in this positive and sunny home, overviewing a small square filled with trees. It is 55 m², one bedroom with a big bed and a couch that can transform in another big bed in the living room. The appartment is best suited for a travelling individual or a couple, hardly for small kids. The neighborood is just great, one of the best you can get in Lyon along with Vieux Lyon, but much less crowded and noisy. The flat is located in the center of Lyon (presqu'île), on a third floor right on top on the historic and pretty Croix Rousse hill, at a walking distance of 10 min to place des Terreaux (opera, city hall) and 15-20 minutes from Saint- Jean (the other touristic and historic neighorood). The big fresh fruit and vegetable producer market starts right in front of the house, so you can shop for food there everyday except Mondays and enjoy the quality of south of France products-it’s great- there's organic products as well :) There are two supermakets at a walking distance (5 and 10 minutes) a few restaurants and bars around the corner, and shops and a subway station at a 7-8 minutes walk (place de la croix rousse). The bus stop is just down the street (although the flat being very central like i said there's a lot of stuff to do and see is at a walking distance) Feel free to ask for details!
Special Considerations
Please don't smoke inside the appartment and water the plants every other day :) I propose to swap cars as well! :) There is a lot of art and sentimental objects inside the house- I request guests to please be very careful with those items :) I said I'm an artist but I'm also a carreer coach consultant with great consideration for people so in that perspective I like more the idea of looking for solutions together as communicating adults than hiding stuff or having an uneasy communication which is not much my style! ;) Feel free to ask for any details :)
Casseroles et vieilles gamelles (grande rue de la croix rousse), Le Musée (2 rus des forts)
Lots of bars and nightlife in this city...
Lots of shops as well! For all tastes, luxury and affordable
Museum of contemporary art, musée des beaux arts, IAC,
Abode of Chaos (atypical for people interested in art),, cités médievales de Pérouges, Crémieu.....Provence is only a hour and a half ride from Lyon.
Historic neighborood of Croix Rousse and Saint Jean, Quais de saone sightseeing, Monts d'Or
Special Events
There will a lot of outside events in the summer like concerts, festivals, activities, i'll let you know the programs
depends on your interests, feel free to ask! :)

Send a Message

Member since: Apr 2013
Availability:   Depends on the offer
Prior exchanges: 0

  Our Dream Trip

destinations United States,  United Kingdom
Los Angeles, San Francisco, California, New York, London
destinations Anytime
In july would be great, the whole month or a few weeks here and there

  About Us

  1. I'm a 31 year old woman who loves to travel and discover new people and cultures ! I'm clean and respectful of others
  2. I have 2 jobs: i work as a carreer coach consultant, personal develoment trainer and an artist making sculptures (you can see a few samples at home!) i'd like to swap homes preferably in july
  3. I went to NYC 4 years ago and now I'd like to explore LA and the west coast for artistic opportunities, or maybe go back to NYC as well.

  Personal Message

I have never done home exchange before but that sounds great and much cheaper than renting of course! I have two cats and a tortoise so if you like we can do "pets sitting" exchange, but that's not mandatory. I was thinking of London rather this fall, but I'm open to anything. My aim is to do a bit of "work" (visit museum and galleries, meet people in the art field, contact art galleries..NOT producing art, for that i have a studio in Lyon! :) and holidays (relaxing, enjoying and visiting)...