Wangen-Brüttisellen, Switzerland

Bright suburban family condo

Apartment 6 2 2
About Our Home
Our home was built in 2009. It's located on a small hill. There are 6 other flats of the same type in the house we live. The living area has large windows, that's why it's bright all day. The train station is a 10 minute walk away. From there you can get to the center of Zurich in 15 minutes. The kitchen is equipped with a combined steamer/oven, four induction plates, a fridge and a dishwasher. We have a big balcony with plants. The flat has an area of 122 square meters. We have four bicycles available also. A five minute walk away we have three patches of land to grow vegetables and fruits (about 90 square meters). Some shared lawn and playgrounds are also there, right downstairs from our flat. As we live on the second floor there is also a limited view (on very clear days the mountains can be seen). We have some additional mattresses, that's why 6 people could comfortably stay at our place (two in each bedroom and two in the office room). A MacBook for planning trips, using Skype etc. is provided. Half-fare card for using Swiss public transport system is included (which means tickets can be bought for half of the price). Excursions from a family perspective (times are not including 15 minute walk to the station): - Mount Uetliberg (40 minutes by train), climb the observation tower then hike on ridge for 1.5 hours to Felsenegg from where a cable car takes you back down - Indoor playing (50 minutes by train) - Indoor bouldering just 20 minutes away by bike - Zurich Zoo with rainforest hall is only 30 to 40 minutes away by train & bus - Free domestic openair animal parks in Winterthur & Adliswil (both less than an hour away by train & on foot) - Do a free audio tour with your smartphone in historical Winterthur, which is 15 minutes away by train - Visit Greifensee & Pfäffikersee lakes (less than one hour by bike or train), take a bath in the fresh and clean water - Technical museum Technorama in Winterthur, also good for kids - Hike to highest point of canton of Zurich at 1292 meters above sea level (starting point is 1 hour 15 minutes away by train) - Lucerne is just 1 hour 10 minutes away by train, from there visit Mount Pilatus or Rigi, or do a stroll through the nice old town - the mountain canton Glarus is 1.5 hours away by train - Berne with the parliament building and historical town can be reached in 1:15 by train
Special Considerations
No smoking, plants on balcony and garden need watering. Fruits and vegs need to be harvested and eaten (e. g. raspberries). No parking available, but since Switzerland is very well connected by public transport that's not really an issue (next station is Dietlikon, 15 minutes away by foot). We will advise you on good railway ticket deals.
Swiss & Italian 5 minutes away by foot, in the town of Zurich we like Hiltl, Tibits, Café Schlauch & Café Zähringer
Parties, music, shows etc. in towns of Zurich & Winterthur (half hour by foot & train)
Grocery, post office, ATM, restaurants and pharmacy five minutes away by foot
Many in the towns of Zurich & Winterthur (arts, history, technical, photo, nature etc.)
On the edge of city, forest and greenfields nearby
Mount Uetliberg, three lakes, large zoo, historical towns
Special Events
e. g. Outdoor cinema at the lake (google for orange cinema)
Large in- and outdoor communal baths 15 minutes to walk

Send a Message

Member since: Aug 2013
Availability:   Within the next 3 months
Prior exchanges: 0

  Our Dream Trip

destinations United States
DC, Pennsylvania, Maryland, Virginia
destinations Anytime
We want to take 4 weeks off in spring or summer 2014

  About Us

  1. We are a married couple with two daughters (3 & 4 years old)
  2. Urs works as a software developer and Susanne studies languages
  3. We enjoy being outdoors, travelling, reading, cooking & vegetable growing.

  Personal Message

We have done no home exchange before but we have hosted a couple of people from the community. Please be assured that we are well organized and responsible, and we are going to take care of your property as if it is ours. We will visit friends in Pennsylvania next year and don't want to stay the full four weeks at their place; that's why we're looking for a swap.