Barrack Heights, Australia

Family Home close to beach

House 8 4 1
About Our Home
Our home is family friendly with large beds in all rooms. 2 bedrooms with king beds,1 with queen and 1 double. We have a study 3 way bathroom and sunroom. Oven, fridge, freezer, brand new washing machine, dryer, bicycles (including 1 tandem) are available for your use. Native garden (attractiing native birds) in front yard with vegetable gardens throughout front and back yards. We are 10 minutes walk (2 minutes drive) to a variety of beaches, including Shellharbour and Warilla. We are also 10 minutes drive from Lake Illawarra, so plenty of variety for fishing, swimming, surfing and many more water activities. We are within easy driving distance to the Sea Cliff Bridge, Minnamurra Rainforest, The Illawarra Fly and Jamberoo Recreation Park. We are located 90 minutes drive south of Sydney and 3 hours drive to Canberra and approximately 4 hours drive to the ski fields. If you want the best of all experiences, enjoy our home with its abundance of shopping, night life, recreational activities, picnic and beach activities available at our door step. We have an apple mac large screen computer with wifi and cable tv available for your use. 5 seater car optional.
Special Considerations
No smoking in the house but we are happy for you to smoke outside.
A real taste of Thailand and Nardi's Italian Restaurant are two of the best local restaurants
The Shellharbour Club (live bands, restaurants etc) and many night clubs in Wollongong (just 25 minutes drive)
Stocklands Shellharbour is one of the largest shopping centres in NSW and located just 3 minutes drive from our home
Beaches Galore, Lake Illawarra, Bike paths connecting many suburbs
Shellharbour Village, Kiama Blowhole, Minnamurra Rainforest, Shellharbour Beach, The Illawarra Fly
Special Events
Regular markets, Fair once per year locally
Enjoy the relaxed outdoor lifestyle of our many beautiful beaches

Send a Message

Member since: Aug 2013
Availability:   Within the next 6 months
Prior exchanges: 0

  Our Dream Trip

destinations Anywhere,  Germany,  Italy,  United Kingdom
Prefer London, Rome, Paris and anywhere in Germany
destinations Anytime
We are looking at a week in London at the beginning of our trip, followed by a week in Rome, then 2 weeks in Germany and up to 2 weeks in France at the end.

  About Us

  1. We are a couple in our early 40's with two teenage daughters, aged 15 and 18.
  2. We both work for State Government in Housing and Corrective Services
  3. We enjoy travel, family, learning new cultures and experiencing the world!

  Personal Message

Whilst we have not experienced house exchange before, we are very much looking forward to having our first experience this year. Our 18 year old daughter is on Youth Exchange in Germany for a year and we are therefore limited in the time we can travel on this trip. We are looking at doing a few exchanges to various countries in Europe and the UK between October 25th and December 10th 2013. We have a cleaner who will look after our home to ensure it is clean and ready for the next visitors.