London, Canada

Large home and private gardens

House 4 2 2
About Our Home
We chose our home because of the large gardens at the back making us feel like we are living on park land. A huge deck is attached to the back of the house with a bbq to enjoy your summer nights. There are 2 bedrooms with a queen sized mattress. The other rooms are currently being used as offices. There are 2 sofas in the family room that can be used for sleeping. In the lower level we have a large family room with a treadmill, television, and Xbox for the kids. Internet usage here is either by a cable connected to our main computers upstairs or you can use Wi-Fi. There is a newer washing machine in the laundry room but we hang up our wet clothing in summer and winter. Air conditioning is throughout the house as August tends to be quite humid. A dishwasher will keep your housekeeping duties to a minimum. There are bus stops within 5 blocks of our house that can take you downtown in 15 minutes. A mall with over 100 stores is within a 40 minute walk or 10 minute bus ride. Drive 1/2 hour south and you reach Port Stanley which is a quaint little town on Lake Erie. Drive 40 minutes northwest and you reach Grand Bend on Lake Huron which boasts some of Canada's best sunsets. Go 40 minutes northeast and you reach Stratford, a beautiful quaint little city that hosts the largest Shakespearean Festival outside of England. Our house is situated 5 minutes from Highway 401, a 4-lane highway that can take you either to Toronto or Detroit in 2 hours and Niagara Falls/Niagara on the Lake within 3 hours. Montreal is about 10 hours east of us but is completely accessible by train from either city.
Special Considerations
We have 2 indoor only cats who are very friendly and affectionate. We would love if you would consider them living with you during your stay. Watering our plants would be lovely as well. We are non-smokers so we ask that you respect our home and only smoke outdoors.
We live within 1 km of many well known restaurant chains
The downtown is about 15 minutes by bus or 10 minutes by car. Lots of festivals and other activities.
We live within 2 km of a major shopping mall with over 100+ stores.
We have an Indian Archeological museum, Children's museum, Museum/Art Gallery
There are ponds within walking distance that were formed in the ice age.
We are within 2 hours of Toronto or Detroit, 3 hours from Niagara Falls, 10 hours from Montreal
Special Events
In an hour you can be in Stratford, Ontario home to the world's second largest Shakespearean festival

Send a Message

Member since: May 2014
Availability:   Within the next 12 months
Prior exchanges: 0

  Our Dream Trip

destinations Anywhere,  Switzerland
Lucerne, Bern, Interlaken areas for August 2014
destinations Anytime
We already have an exchange for our home this year

  About Us

  1. While Ian has travelled to many parts of the world, Lori is just getting started having both visited in 2008 Slovakia, the ancestral home of her parents, and Germany where Ian once went to high school
  2. Ian is 69 and still teaching in an adult high school. Once a week he teaches yoga at a local college.
  3. Lori, 56, is a licenced wedding officiant who marries people (at our own gazebo occasionally in our backyard) but works primarily online as a transcriber for insurance companies as well as the enterta

  Personal Message

Ian travelled the world in his 20s primarily staying in B&Bs and hostels. He is itching to go hiking in the mountains of Europe again. He operates a 1 bedroom B&B in our home. We are both new to home exchanges but are very keen to do it. We promise to take care of any pets and plants and hope you will do the same.